Monday, December 16, 2013

Online Film Critics Society Award Winners Announced

This morning, the winners for the 17th Annual Online Film Critics Society Awards were revealed. The big winner, as has been case with many other critics' groups, was Steve McQueen's 12 Years A Slave, which was awarded Best Picture, Actor, Supporting Actor, Supporting Actress and Adapted Screenplay. Alfonso Cuaron's Gravity was no slouch, either; it won Best Director, Editing and Cinematography, and was awarded a special award for its revolutionary special effects.

Meanwhile, Act of Killing won Best Documentary in an incredibly strong category; Cate Blanchett took Best Actress for Blue Jasmine; Blue is the Warmest Colour was awarded Best Film Not In The English Language; and The Wind Rises, the final film from Hayao Miyazaki, won Best Animated Feature. 

Here's the full list of nominations. The winners have been highlighted in red, while the nominees I put as number one on my ballot have been represented by an asterisks.

Best Picture
12 Years a Slave
American Hustle
Before Midnight
Blue Is the Warmest Color
Drug War
Inside Llewyn Davis*
Short Term 12
The Wind Rises

Best Animated Feature
Despicable Me 2
From Up on Poppy Hill
Monsters University*
The Wind Rises

Best Film Not in the English Language 
Blue Is the Warmest Color*
Drug War
Museum Hours
The Wind Rises

Best Documentary
56 Up
The Act of Killing*
At Berkeley
Stories We Tell

Best Director
Joel Coen, Ethan Coen – Inside Llewyn Davis
Alfonso Cuaron – Gravity*
Spike Jonze – Her
Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave
Hayao Miyazaki – The Wind Rises

Best Actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave*
Tom Hanks – Captain Phillips
Oscar Isaac – Inside Llewyn Davis
Mads Mikkelsen – The Hunt
Joaquin Phoenix – Her

Best Actress
Amy Adams – American Hustle
Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
Julie Delpy – Before Midnight
Adèle Exarchopoulos – Blue Is the Warmest Color*
Brie Larsen – Short Term 12

Best Supporting Actor

Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips
Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave
Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club
Matthew McConaughey – Mud
Sam Rockwell – The Way, Way Back*

Best Supporting Actress
Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine
Scarlett Johansson – Her
Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle
Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Léa Seydoux – Blue Is the Warmest Color*

Best Original Screenplay

American Hustle
Blue Jasmine
Inside Llewyn Davis*
Museum Hours

Best Adapted Screenplay
12 Years a Slave*
Before Midnight
In the House
Short Term 12
The Wind Rises

Best Editing
12 Years a Slave
Drug War
Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Cinematography
12 Years a Slave
The Grandmaster
The Great Beauty
Inside Llewyn Davis*

Special Awards:
Best Sound Design and Best Visual Effects to Gravity
To Roger Ebert, for inspiring so many of our members

Top Ten films Without a U.S. Release:
Closed Curtain
Like Father, Like Son
Our Sunhi
The Rocket
Stranger By the Lake
We Are the Best!
Le Weekend
Why Don’t You Play in Hell?